Daily Favorites (February 23, 2018)


This is my new page that links to some of my favorite readings on leadership.  If they stretch the imagination and add to our understanding of the psychology of people, then I’m interested.

[February 23, 2018]  Does China’s military and economic buildup threatens the world?

  1. Taiwan and the Growing Chinese Threat – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/02/taiwan-and-the-growing-chinese-threat.php
  2. US Navy says China’s military buildup won’t stop patrols – http://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/navy-officer-us-bullied-china-china-sea-53161089

[February 22, 2018]  Are “progressive” state government policies causing the destruction of a once great state?

  1. Is California Starting to Circle the Drain? – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/02/is-california-starting-to-spiral-the-drain.php
  2. California Suicide Watch, Part 2 – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/02/california-suicide-watch-part-2.php

[February 21, 2018]  The gun control frenzy:

  1. Gun Control Hysteria Sweeps the Left – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/02/gun-control-hysteria-sweeps-the-left.php
  2. Public Views about Guns (nice graphic) – http://www.people-press.org/2017/06/22/public-views-about-guns/#total

[February 20, 2018]  Articles from FrontPage Magazine:

  1. Fatal Bureau of Investigation – https://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/269367/fatal-bureau-investigation-lloyd-billingsley
  2. Europe’s Future Nightmare – https://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/269364/europes-future-nightmare-baby-muhammad-jihad-raymond-Ibrahim

[February 19, 2018]  Two practical websites for the man or woman who maintains their mental stamina:

  1. Urgent Agenda – http://urgentagenda.com/
  2. Steyn Online – https://www.steynonline.com/

[February 18, 2018]  Book reviews worth reading from the New York Times:

  1. DIRECTORATE S – https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/31/books/review/steve-coll-directorate-s.html
  2. THE TRIUMPTH OF CHRISTIANITY – https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/13/books/review/bart-d-ehrman-the-triumph-of-christianity.html

[February 17, 2018]  Articles by Michelle Malkin … “it’s the facts ma’am”:

  1. Science, secrecy, and lies in Oklahoma – http://michellemalkin.com/2018/02/13/science-secrecy-and-lies-in-oklahoma/
  2. Holtzclaw update: Parole hearing, secret hearings, and conflicts galore – http://michellemalkin.com/2018/02/07/holtzclaw-update-parole-hearing-secret-hearings-and-conflicts-galore/

[February 16, 2018]  Two good articles from the American Affairs Journal:

  1. Romance and Socialism in J.S. Mills – https://americanaffairsjournal.org/2017/05/romance-socialism-j-s-mill/
  2. The Two-Board Knot: Zoning, Schools, and Inequality – https://americanaffairsjournal.org/2017/11/two-board-knot-zoning-schools-inequality/

[February 15, 2018]  Strategy, winning, and leadership:

  1. Who’s Really Winning the North Korea Standoff? – https://amgreatness.com/2018/02/14/whos-really-winning-north-korea-standoff/
  2. Don’t Retire our Stealth Bombers – http://www.nationalreview.com/article/456392/dont-retire-stealth-bombers-budget-better

[February 14, 2018]  Is the government of Iran falling apart?

  1. Why the Islamic Republic of Iran is Doomed – https://pjmedia.com/michaelledeen/islamic-republic-iran-doomed/
  2. How American Media Spin-Doctored the Iranian Protests – http://www.theamericanconservative.com/articles/how-american-media-spin-doctored-the-iranian-protests/

[February 13, 2018]  Two good articles today from the Federalist:

  1. Dear America: Your New Media Absolutely Hates You – http://thefederalist.com/2018/02/12/dear-america-news-media-absolutely-hates/
  2. Watch Bill Murray Savage Identity Politics: ‘Think About What Is Common To All Of Us’ – http://thefederalist.com/2018/02/12/watch-bill-murray-savage-identity-politics-think-common-us/

[February 12, 2018]  Book reviews from the New York Review of Books:

  1. The Inspired Voyage of Patrick Leigh Fermor – http://www.nybooks.com/articles/2014/06/19/inspired-voyage-patrick-leigh-fermor/
  2. When Government Drew the Color Line – http://www.nybooks.com/articles/2018/02/22/when-government-drew-the-color-line/

[February 11, 2018]  Two good articles from Law and Liberty:

  1. Three Fifths of All Other Persons – http://www.libertylawsite.org/2018/02/05/three-fifths-of-all-other-persons/
  2. The Steep Costs of Judges as Institutional Reform Advocates – www.libertylawsite.org/2018/02/08/the-steep-costs-of-judges-as-institutional-reform-advocates/

[February 10, 2018]  The decline of trust and confidence in the news media continues:

  1. The Newseum is a monument of absurd self-praise – http://www.nationalreview.com/article/456243/newseum-journalists-idolatry
  2. Chaos in the newsroom: Newsweek next in line to fall? – http://www.worldfuturetv.com/live/bizfuture/chaos-newsroom-newsweek-next-line-fall/

[February 9, 2018]  ISIS is not destroyed and coordination between some Islamic countries and Israel continues:

  1. Egyptian security forces launch major offensive against ISIS – http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2018/02/egyptian_security_forces_launch_major_offensive_against_isis.html
  2. Qatar working closely with Israel to channel aid to Gaza, says Doha official – https://www.timesofisrael.com/qatar-working-closely-with-israel-to-channel-aid-to-gaza-says-qatari-official/

[February 8, 2018]

  1. Why Poland’s ‘Death Camp’ Law Should Have All Of Us Worried – http://www.wbur.org/cognoscenti/2018/02/07/holocaust-blame-law-nir-eisikovits
  2. Why Poland’s ‘Death Camp’ Law Is So Dangerous – https://www.haaretz.com/opinion/.premium-why-polands-death-camp-law-is-so-dangerous-1.5439357

[February 7, 2018]  Two good articles from the Jewish World Review:

  1. Israel’s immigration crisis is a Lesson for Trump – http://www.jewishworldreview.com/0218/chafets020718.php3
  2. Actually, Things Are Pretty Good and Getting Better – http://www.jewishworldreview.com/0218/purcell020618.php3

[February 6, 2018]  The writers at Power Line Blog have returned to the airwaves with some provocative ideas:

  1. The Power Line Show, Ep. 54: The Next Iranian Revolution? – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/02/the-power-line-show-ep-54-the-next-iranian-revolution.php
  2. The Power Line Show, Ep. 53: When Harry Became Sally – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/02/power-line-show-episode-53-when-harry-became-sally.php

[February 5, 2018]  Yes, I was invited to watch Super Bowl LII at a friend’s house (Eagle fans) and watched the whole game.  With that behind us, my favorite commercial was by Doritos and Mountain Dew starring Morgan Freeman and Pete Dinklage:

  1. 2018 Super Bowl Commercials: Grading the Best and the Worst Ads – http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2756622-2018-super-bowl-commercials-grading-the-best-and-worst-ads
  2. People are going crazy over Doritos’ hilarious Super Bowl commercial – and it’s even more brilliant than you realize – http://www.businessinsider.com/doritos-super-bowl-commercial-2018-2

[February 4, 2018]  The family: is it in decline … or not?

  1. When Family Values Pay – https://www.city-journal.org/html/when-family-values-pay-15658.html
  2. Family Values: What Has Happened To The Family? A Commentary – http://annettebromley.expertscolumn.com/article/family-values-what-has-happened-family-commentary

[February 3, 2018]  Two articles worth reading from The Washington Free Beacon:

  1. The Back to the Future Democrats – freebeacon.com/columns/back-future-democrats/
  2. FBI Used Dossier Funded by Clinton Election Campaign to Spy on Trump Advisor – http://freebeacon.com/national-security/fbi-used-dossier-funded-clinton-election-campaign-spy-trump-adviser/

[February 2, 2018]  Two articles in American Greatness that address the “Progressive” reaction to President Trump’s State of the Union address:

  1. In Trump, the Churlish Left Finally Meets Its Match – https://amgreatness.com/2018/02/01/trump-churlish-left-finally-meets-match/
  2. Night of the Living Dead – https://amgreatness.com/2018/02/01/night-living-dead/

[February 1, 2018]  ‘America First’ … what does it mean?

  1. Americans First – https://www.city-journal.org/html/americans-first-15700.html
  2. Read Donald Trump’s ‘America First’ Policy Speech – http://time.com/4309786/read-donald-trumps-america-first-foreign-policy-speech/

——————–

[January 31, 2018]  A few comments on last night’s State of the Union speech by U.S. President Donald Trump:

  1. A Tremendous Performance by President Trump – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/01/a-tremendous-performance-by-president-trump.php
  2. Preparing for State of the Union, Trump says he’s learning to govern with ‘heart’ – https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/politics/2018/01/30/trump-learning-govern-heart-unity/1080622001/

[January 30, 2018]  Two very good articles from Hillsdale College:

  1. Are We Free to Discuss America’s Real Problems? – https://imprimis.hillsdale.edu/are-we-free-to-discuss-americas-real-problems/
  2. Three Lessons of Statesmanship – https://imprimis.hillsdale.edu/three-lessons-statesmanship/

[January 29, 2018]  A couple of good articles from the New York Daily News:

  1. A historic Holocaust awareness awakening in Saudi Arabia, of all places – http://www.nydailynews.com/opinion/holocaust-awareness-awakening-saudi-arabia-places-article-1.3780749
  2. Reader sound off on Jane Fonda, evangelicals and homeless shelters – http://www.nydailynews.com/opinion/jan-27-jane-fonda-evangelicals-homeless-shelters-article-1.3781832

[January 28, 2018]  New York City Mayor Bill De Blasio and high-level corruption:

  1. De Blasio’s Corruption Shadow – https://www.city-journal.org/html/de-blasio’s-corruption-shadow-15687.html
  2. Bill de Blasio’s broken ethical compass – http://www.nydailynews.com/opinion/bill-de-blasio-broken-ethical-compass-article-1.3781883

[January 27, 2018]  Interesting take on memory and how it affects our views on the world:

  1. Why We Forget Most of the Books We Read – https://www.theatlantic.com/science/archive/2018/01/what-was-this-article-about-again/551603/
  2. Memory and Forgetting (NPR Radio Lab, podcast 1:00:55 minutes) – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forgetting_curve

[January 26, 2018]  The FBI and its brewing decline:

  1. The Sad Decline of the FBI – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/01/the-sad-decline-of-the-fbi-you-read-it-here-first.php
  2. In Search of Lost Texts (the series) – http://www.powerlineblog.com/?s=in+search+of+lost+texts&x=0&y=0

[January 25, 2018]  Is there really a massive scandal at the FBI?

  1. Evidence suggests a massive scandal is brewing at the FBI – https://nypost.com/2018/01/23/evidence-suggests-a-massive-scandal-is-brewing-at-the-fbi/
  2. The FBI Scandal Hiding in Plain Site – https://www.bloomberg.com/view/articles/2017-12-14/the-fbi-scandal-hiding-in-plain-sight

[January 24, 2018]  Garrison Keillor, a message for us all:

  1. Garrison Keillor, Horn Dog – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/01/garrison-keillor-horn-dog.php
  2. Investigation: For some who lived in it, Keillor’s world was not funny – https://www.mprnews.org/story/2018/01/23/keillor-workplace

[January 23, 2018]  The failure of the state of California:

  1. California Turns Law Enforcement Upside Down – https://www.realclearpolitics.com/articles/2018/01/22/california_turns_law_enforcement_upside_down_136060.html
  2. California lawmakers have tried for 50 years to fix the state’s housing crisis.  Here’s why they’ve failed – http://www.latimes.com/projects/la-pol-ca-housing-supply/

[January 22, 2018]  Two good articles by Victor Davis Hanson:

  1. Mythologies of Illegal Immigration – https://amgreatness.com/2018/01/21/mythologies-illegal-immigration/
  2. Is Trump Really Crazy? – https://amgreatness.com/2018/01/08/trump-really-crazy/

[January 20-21, 2018]  There are no link pages today.  I’ll be camping with the Boy Scouts.

[January 19, 2018]  Improving government agencies takes courage … and a change in the law:

  1. Does the VA Point the Way Toward Agency Reform? – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/01/does-the-va-point-the-way-toward-agency-reform.php
  2. Thousands of Poor Performers are No Longer at VA, Shulkin Boasts – https://www.lifezette.com/polizette/thousands-of-poor-performers-are-no-longer-at-va-shulkin-boasts/

[January 18, 2018]  Two good articles from Campus Reform:

  1. MLK Day speaker promotes BDS to counter ‘pressure’ from right – https://www.campusreform.org/?ID=10397
  2. Pro-socialism prof blames capitalism for world wars, slavery – https://www.campusreform.org/?ID=10395

[January 17, 2018]  The open secret of racism of the American leftists:

  1. The Relative Racism of the American Left – https://spectator.org/the-reflexive-racism-of-the-american-left/
  2. Volume VI – Progressive Racism – blackbookoftheamericanleft.com/volume-vi/

[January 16, 2017]  Some insight into Socialism’s ills by John Hinderaker at PowerLineBlog.com:

  1. CNN: Socialism is Cool! – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/01/cnn-socialism-is-cool.php
  2. Socialism Causes Underage Prostitution – http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2017/11/socialism-causes-underage-prostitution.php

[January 15, 2018] Martin Luther King, Jr. Day:

  1. Martin Luther King Day is Now More Popular Than Presidents Day – https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-01-15/martin-luther-king-day-is-now-more-popular-than-president-s-day
  2. Celebrate MLK’s Birthday By Embracing His Last Message – https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/celebrate-mlks-birthday-by-embracing-his-last-message_us_5a593bf7e4b003efadb6ada4?utm_hp_ref=martin-luther-king

[January 14, 2018] Two interesting articles by Andrew Klavan:

  1. The Great Question – https://www.city-journal.org/html/great-question-14575.html
  2. The Silent Nasty – https://www.city-journal.org/html/silent-nasty-14394.html

[January 13, 2018]  Clarity and truth seem to matter not:

  1. Of Crudeness and Truth – https://www.city-journal.org/html/crudeness-and-truth-15668.html
  2. Supercut: CNN Anchors Love Saying ‘Sh**hole’ on the Air – https://news.grabien.com/story-supercut-cnn-anchors-love-saying-shthole-air

[January 12, 2018]  A normal person would think Europe learned its lesson about appeasing dictators by now:

  1. Europe’s High Representative for Appeasement – https://www.bloomberg.com/view/articles/2018-01-09/federica-mogherini-europe-s-high-representative-for-appeasement
  2. The EU Global Strategy Year 1 – https://europa.eu/globalstrategy/en/global-strategy-foreign-and-security-policy-european-union

[January 11, 2018]  Articles on the Michael Wolff effect:

  1. Michael Wolff, Golden Globes, and the Failure of the Artistic Class – http://observer.com/2018/01/michael-wolff-golden-globes-artistic-class/
  2. Michael Wolff’s Expose Sparks Fury inside the White House – http://observer.com/2018/01/is-everything-in-michael-wolffs-book-on-donald-trump-true/

[January 10, 2018]  Two good book reviews at the Claremont:

  1. Tet Offensive – https://www.claremont.org/crb/basicpage/tet-defensive/
  2. The People’s Revolution – https://www.claremont.org/crb/basicpage/the-peoples-revolution/

[January 9, 2108]  Two good articles from the Gatestone Institute:

  1. Mass Migration: Uninvited Guests – https://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/11625/mass-migration-uninvited-guests
  2. France’s War Against Firefighters and Police – https://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/11697/france-firefighters-police

[January 8, 2018]  Rank hypocrisy at the Golden Globes award ceremony:

  1. The post-Weinstein Golden Globes was an exercise in hypocrisy: https://nypost.com/2018/01/08/the-post-weinstein-golden-globes-was-an-exercise-in-hypocrisy/
  2. The Hypocrisy of #WhyWeWearBlack at the Golden Globes: https://thescoodie.wordpress.com/2018/01/07/the-hypocrisy-of-whywewearblack-at-the-golden-globes/

[January 7, 2018]  A link between Turkey and Iran is a “new” development:

  1. The Biggest Sanctions-Evasion Scheme in Recent History: http://www.defenddemocracy.org/media-hit/schanzer-jonathan-the-biggest-sanctions-evasion-scheme-in-recent-history/
  2. Witness links Turkish leader Erdogan to Iran sanctions busting: https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/witness-says-turkey-s-erdogan-ordered-movement-iranian-cash-n825271

[January 6, 2018]  Book reviews about North Korean escapees:

  1. Book Review: What to Read if You Want to Know More About North Korea: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/01/books/review/nicholas-kristof-north-korea.html
  2. Book Review: What to Read About North Korea: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/05/books/review/what-to-read-about-north-korea.html

[January 5, 2018]  Two good articles from The Weekly Standard:

  1. The Crack-up of Theocracy: http://www.weeklystandard.com/the-crack-up-of-theocracy/article/2011038
  2. A Deafening Silence: http://www.weeklystandard.com/editorial-a-deafening-silence/article/2011025

[January 4, 2018]  Two more good articles from the Tablet:

  1. The Ayatollah Empire is Rotting Away: http://www.tabletmag.com/jewish-news-and-politics/252374/ayatollah-empire-is-rotting-away
  2. Realism and the Kurds: http://www.tabletmag.com/jewish-news-and-politics/250592/realism-and-the-kurds

[January 3, 2018]  Iran and their protests; cause and effect?

  1. Is Obama Responsible for the Iranian Protests?  http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2018/01/is-obama-responsible-for-the-iranian-protests.php
  2. The Worst Thing for Iran’s Protesters?  U.S. Silence:  https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/02/opinion/iran-protests-silence-america.html

[January 2, 2018]  Two good articles from Commentary Magazine:

  1. An Iranian Revolution of National Dignity: https://www.commentarymagazine.com/foreign-policy/middle-east/iran/iranian-revolution-national-dignity/
  2. The Death Rattle of Obama’s Reputation: https://www.commentarymagazine.com/foreign-policy/the-death-rattle-of-obamas-foreign-policy-record-susan-rice/

[January 1, 2018]  Two good articles from the Tablet:

  1. Why Can’t the American Media Cover the Protests in Iran?: http://www.tabletmag.com/scroll/252332/why-cant-the-american-media-cover-the-protest-in-iran
  2. Why Soviet Jews Have ‘Christmas’ Trees: http://www.tabletmag.com/scroll/157346/why-soviet-jews-have-christmas-trees

[NOTE]  See daily favorites from 2016 below (full list from 2017 coming soon):