Daily Favorites (December 12, 2017)


This is my new page that links to some of my favorite readings on leadership.  If they stretch the imagination and add to our understanding of the psychology of people, then I’m interested.

[December 12, 2017]  Two informative articles from the New York Times:

  1. Iranian Terror.  Argentinian Cover Up.  Justice at Last?: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/12/11/opinion/argentina-kirchner-iran-nisman.html
  2. How ISIS Produced Its Cruel Arsenal on an Industrial Scale: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/12/10/world/middleeast/isis-bombs.html

[December 11, 2017]  … and people wonder why the media is distrusted so much:

  1. The U.S. Media Yesterday Suffered its Most Humiliating Debacle in Ages: Now Refuses All Transparency Over What Happened – https://theintercept.com/2017/12/09/the-u-s-media-yesterday-suffered-its-most-humiliating-debacle-in-ages-now-refuses-all-transparency-over-what-happened/
  2. When our trusted storytellers are also the abusers: https://www.boston.com/news/media/2017/12/01/when-our-trusted-storytellers-are-also-the-abusers

[December 10, 2017]  A couple of good articles from PJ Media:

  1. The End of Media History and the Last Honest Man: https://pjmedia.com/michaelwalsh/end-media-history-last-honest-man/
  2. High School Conservative Club Shut Down After Posting Video of Classmates Protesting the Flag: https://pjmedia.com/trending/high-school-conservative-club-shut-posting-video-classmates-protesting-flag/

[December 9, 2107]  Racial hoaxes, why?

  1. Sailor staged racist vandalism, Navy says: https://www.navytimes.com/news/your-navy/2017/12/08/sailor-staged-racist-vandalism-navy-says/
  2. A Plague of Racial Hoaxes on Campus: https://www.commentarymagazine.com/american-society/racial-hoaxes-college-campus/

[December 8, 2017]  Interesting comments on U.S. President Trump’s announcement to recognize Israel’s capital as Jerusalem:

  1. A Capital Idea: http://www.weeklystandard.com/a-capital-idea/article/2010772
  2. Trump’s truth-telling on Jerusalem marks an all-new Middle East: https://nypost.com/2017/12/06/trumps-truth-telling-on-jerusalem-marks-an-all-new-middle-east/

[December 7, 2017]  Pearl Harbor Day

  1. Pearl Harbor: How FDR responded to the “day of infamy”: https://www.cbsnews.com/news/pearl-harbor-how-fdr-responded-to-the-day-of-infamy/
  2. 76 Years On, Pearl Harbor Survivors Forgive – But Can’t Forget: https://news.nationalgeographic.com/2016/12/pearl-harbor-attack-anniversary-arizona-memorial/

[December 6, 2017]  Two good articles from the Weekly Standard:

  1. The Legacy of John Anderson, Liberal Republican: http://www.weeklystandard.com/the-legacy-of-john-anderson-liberal-republican/article/2010725
  2. Flying Blind in Alabama: http://www.weeklystandard.com/flying-blind-in-alabama/article/2010733

[December 5, 2017]  The moral decline of the media:

  1. The Mainstream Media Doesn’t Deserve Our Respect or Our Trust: https://townhall.com/columnists/kurtschlichter/2017/12/04/the-mainstream-media-doesnt-deserve-our-respect-or-our-trust-n2417565
  2. The Death Of Science Journalism: https://www.acsh.org/news/2017/11/30/death-science-journalism-12221

[December 4, 2017]  Military service and a divided nation:

  1. The Recruiters: Searching For The Next Generation Of Warfighters In A Divided Nation – http://taskandpurpose.com/east-orange-army-recruitment-divided-america/?curator=LongformREDEF
  2. Healing a divided nation through service – https://military.asu.edu/healing-divided-nation-through-service

[December 3, 2017]  The mockery of justice or maybe not?

  1. San Francisco’s Shame:  https://www.city-journal.org/html/san-francisco’s-shame-15590.html
  2.  Gimme Shelter:  https://pjmedia.com/michaelwalsh/gimme-shelter/

 [December 2, 2017]  Two good articles from the Commentary Magazine:

  1. The Death of Scholarship – https://www.commentarymagazine.com/articles/the-death-of-scholarship/
  2. The Theologian of the American Idea – https://www.commentarymagazine.com/articles/theologian-american-idea/

 [December 1, 2017]  Two good articles from the Federalist:

  1. Calling Pence A Liar While Protecting Warren Is Why People Hate Media – http://thefederalist.com/2017/11/29/calling-pence-a-liar-while-protecting-warren-is-why-people-hate-media/
  2. Angela Lansbury is Right: Women Need Take Responsibility When They Contribute To Bad Sex Situations – http://thefederalist.com/2017/11/29/angela-lansbury-right-women-need-take-responsibility-contribute-bad-sex-situations/

[NOTE]  See daily favorites from 2016 below: