Daily Favorites (August 22, 2019)


This is my new page that links to some of my favorite readings on leadership.  If they stretch the imagination and add to our understanding of the psychology of people, then I’m interested.  Normally, I post two (2) articles that I think are pretty good.

[August 22, 2019]  A little humor from the Babylon Bee:

  1. Concerning Survey Finds Too Many People Believe Snopes Is A Legitimate Fact-Checking Website – https://babylonbee.com/news/concerning-survey-finds-too-many-people-think-snopes-is-a-real-fact-checking-website
  2. Portland Police: ‘We Wish There Were Some Kind Of Organized, Armed Force That Could Fight Back Against Antifa’ – https://babylonbee.com/news/portland-police-wish-there-were-some-kind-of-organized-armed-force-that-could-fight-back-against-antifa

[August 21, 2019]  From Law & Liberty:

  1. A Devils’ Alliance and a Civilizational Failure – https://www.lawliberty.org/liberty-forum/a-devils-alliance-and-a-civilizational-failure/
  2. Aristotle’s Investigation of the True Meaning of Citizenship – https://www.lawliberty.org/book-review/aristotles-investigation-of-the-true-meaning-of-citizenship/

[August 20, 2019]  From Hugh Hewitt:

  1. About Growing Up – https://www.hughhewitt.com/about-growing-up/
  2. Solutions – https://www.hughhewitt.com/solutions/

[August 19, 2019]  From American Thinker:

  1. The Role of Gun Control in Dictatorship – https://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2019/08/the_role_of_gun_control_in_dictatorship.html
  2. Calling out the climate hypocrites – https://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2019/08/calling_out_the_climate_hypocrites.html

[August 11-18, 20919]  Temporarily down due to technical difficulties; now resolved.

[August 10, 2019]  From the Washington Free Beacon:

  1. Guns and the ‘New Class’ – https://freebeacon.com/columns/guns-and-the-new-class/
  2. Europe Poised to Put Warning Labels on Jewish-Made Products – https://freebeacon.com/national-security/europe-poised-to-put-warning-labels-on-jewish-made-products/

[August 9, 2019]  The Hong Kong protests:

  1. Hong Kong protesters risk arrest as Beijing steps up warnings – https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/aug/03/hong-kong-protesters-risk-arrest-as-beijing-steps-up-warnings
  2. Hong Kong leader Lam says priority is to stop violence – https://www.apnews.com/459fbc9468634ff59da3686727b2f1a4

[August 8, 2019]  Is free speech dying in the “free” world?:

  1. Killing Free Speech in France, Germany and on the Internet – https://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/14678/free-speech-france-germany-internet
  2. Shut up and play nice: How the Western world is limiting free speech – https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/shut-up-and-play-nice-how-the-western-world-is-limiting-free-speech/2012/10/12/e0573bd4-116d-11e2-a16b-2c110031514a_story.html

[August 7, 2019]  From the History Channel:

  1. George Washington creates the Purple Heart – https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/washington-creates-the-purple-heart
  2. U.S. forces invade Guadalcanal – https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/u-s-forces-invade-guadalcanal

[August 6, 2019] Info on Mass Shootings:

  1. Op-Ed: We have studied every mass shooting since 1966. Here’s what we’ve learned about the shooters – https://www.latimes.com/opinion/story/2019-08-04/el-paso-dayton-gilroy-mass-shooters-data
  2. What we know about mass shootings – https://www.politifact.com/truth-o-meter/article/2018/feb/14/what-we-know-about-mass-shootings/

[Augsut 5, 2019]  From PJ Media:

  1. From El Paso to Antifa to LA: America the Insane – https://pjmedia.com/rogerlsimon/from-el-paso-to-antifa-to-la-america-the-insane/
  2. The 1776 Flag Isn’t the Problem. Anti-American Leftists Are. – https://pjmedia.com/trending/the-1776-flag-isnt-the-problem-anti-american-leftists-are/

[August 4, 2019]  The intellectual decline of the U.S. educational system has long been predicted:

  1. The Declining Prestige of Higher Education – https://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2019/08/the-declining-prestige-of-higher-education.php
  2. Education in America: 4. The Decline of Intellect (a 1969 article) – https://fee.org/articles/education-in-america-4-the-decline-of-intellect/

[Auww.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/france/11171314/France-is-a-nation-in-decline-and-Britain-could-be-next.html

[August 2, 2019]  From Michelle Malkin:

  1. NYC’s Anti-Cop Anarchy: What Say You, Dante de Blasio? – http://michellemalkin.com/2019/07/24/nycs-anti-cop-anarchy-what-say-you-dante-de-blasio/
  2. America Takes an Antifa Beating – http://michellemalkin.com/2019/07/03/america-takes-an-antifa-beating/

[August 1, 2019]  From the City Journal:

  1. Citizenship and American Identity – https://www.city-journal.org/american-citizenship
  2. The Childless City – https://www.city-journal.org/html/childless-city-13577.html